A Poem for Winter Solstice

Winter Solstice

Winter Solstice is the shortest day and longest night of the year.
It marks the beginning of winter in the Northern Hemisphere.

Here is a lovely little poem by Robert Frost.

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

4 responses to “A Poem for Winter Solstice

  1. One of my favorite poems of all time. I first learned it in a song when in elementary school. I can still recite it by heart… you wouldn’t want to hear me sing it.
    Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I recall the last paragraph very often. It keeps my energy level up. A nice poem I love

  3. I would like permission to use the photo on this article for the media page on piercemyheart.com.

    If you have the photo in a larger size, I would really like to use the larger size.

    Please e-mail your response to me.

    Thanks!

  4. I don’t remember where I got the original. I usually purchase my photos from fotolia.com. You can find many like it there for only $1 each.