What My Mother Taught Me – The Love of Books

The Love of Books. Photo of Louise Brooks.
My mother always sat every night in her own little corner of the house in a comfortable chair with her feet up on a hassock and read. My father worked until 11:00 PM. So in the evenings she sat and devoured books.

Because of her example, I always have several books going at the same time.

Here is my current bedside reading list:

Les Liaisons Dangereuses by Pierre-Ambrois-Francois Choderlos de Laclos (Dangerous Liaisons)

Web of Darkness by Marion Zimmer Bradley (My favorite fantasy book. Part 2 of The Fall of Atlantis. I read it once a year.)

Elegance: A Novel by Kathleen Tessaro (a novel inspired by the next book)

A Guide to Elegance: For Every Woman Who Wants to Be Well and Properly Dressed on All Occasions by Genevieve Antoine Dariaux (a classic guide for women)

Better than Beauty: A Guide to Charm by H Valentine (a fun book along the same lines)

2 responses to “What My Mother Taught Me – The Love of Books

  1. i read elegance by kathleen tessaro, and while i liked how the book inspired was sort of the premise around the theme, the ending disappointed me. so don’t have too much hopes on it, and you’ll enjoy it better than i did! 🙂

    http://sulz.daria.be

  2. my mon used to read a lot too! it was very inspirational. it made me think that is what you did everyday when you finally relaxed.