Wine Tasting Bars

Vin Rouge, Red Wine
I have to admit, I’m not a big fan of California wines. Sacrilege, I know. But I’m much more partial to the French and Italians.

Whenever I buy a Napa or Sonoma valley wine, I’m disappointed. They don’t have the same subtlety as the older countries.

But tonight I went to a wine bar and sampled small amounts of properly chilled California wines and was pleasantly surprised. There are a lot of good California wines out there. You just have to go someplace where someone who knows wine puts a few choice selections in front of you.

Wine bars are a great place for sampling without putting out the money for whole bottles. At the place I went tonight, you could get a taste (2 oz.), a half glass (4 oz.) or a full glass (6 oz.). They also had complimentary appetizers to enhance your palate.

What are your favorite wines?

One response to “Wine Tasting Bars

  1. I am a fan of Italians wines myself. Nozzole Chianti Classico is my favorite low priced chianti. It goes great with pizza and spaghetti!

    I promise to try more California wines.