What My Mother Taught Me – Don’t Be Afraid to Look Good

Chanel makeup

My mother always dresses and puts on makeup and perfume every day, even if she has nothing special to do. It is just part of her daily routine. She is now 80 years old and still takes pride in her appearance.

Don’t be afraid to put on lipstick even if you are only going to the supermarket.

Some people would make you feel bad, saying you are being vain. But it’s not true. Looking nice makes you feel good and boosts your confidence.

I remember when I was in college, it was not cool to go to your women’s studies classes looking like a girl. But I’m my mother’s daughter and I don’t leave the house without lipstick and mascara. It doesn’t make me any less of a believer in women’s rights.

To paraphrase my favorite fashion gurus in their book, Trinny and Susannah Take on America: What Your Clothes Say About You: don’t even think about leaving the house without wearing mascara. All the other girls will have it on and you need to be able to compete.

Sound shallow? Well, it’s a shallow world.

I have a friend who always signs her emails, Peace, Love and Lipstick.

So, gloss up, ladies.

One response to “What My Mother Taught Me – Don’t Be Afraid to Look Good

  1. Amen to this! Even as a plus-sized girl, when I was first struggling with self-esteem, I just decided to”fake it until you make it” by making sure I was at least slightly made up,and ALWAYS wearing earrings! Don’t know why the earrings were important enough for me to turn the car around and go back for them, but it made the difference, and now it’s routine, nearly!