Dressing Up a Room With Lamps

LampI’ve been driving by this lamp for weeks, debating whether to buy it. I have a red velvet couch and gold silk drapes in my parlor and I knew this lamp would look lovely in the corner. But I had a perfectly good lamp there already, much less stylish, but functional.

Yesterday, I finally went into the design store to see it up close. And I fell in love. They had two and I thought I should buy the pair to have a matching set. But the other one had a slight flaw in the base. So I came home with just the one. I really only needed one anyway.

My advice is to buy interesting lamps. This one really dresses up my room with an art deco flair. Here is a detail of the shade:

Lamp Shade Detail

5 responses to “Dressing Up a Room With Lamps

  1. what’s in the glasses under the lamp?

  2. Champers, darling. I had to celebrate my purchase.

  3. What a pretty lamp! Love it Grace! We at P&G enjoy your blog and appreciate your comments! 🙂

  4. Hi, sorry I’m writing this so late, but I’m in love with your lamp shade! It’s so simple yet so striking, and I love the colors. If you don’t mind me asking, where did you buy it? Does this style have a certain name?

    Thanks!

  5. I bought it at Tribeca Design in Hermosa Beach, CA. http://www.tribecadesign.net
    But that was over a year ago. I don’t know if they’d still have it. You could try calling them. I tried looking at the base but I don’t see any brand name. Good luck.