Remembering Liz Claiborne

Liz ClaiborneFashion designer Liz Claiborne died yesterday at age 78.

Claiborne revolutionized the working woman’s wardrobe by bringing affordable sportswear to the masses.

By offering high quality coordinated separates at reasonable prices, she gave women in the 1970s and ’80s easy options for dressing for the office. Her signature clothing line is available in every major department store across the U.S.

She understood what women needed because she was a working woman. So she made clothes that she wanted to wear herself.

In the 1980s I remember buying a small pink leather purse with beige trim that featured her triangular logo. It was my first “name brand” purchase and at $60 it was probably the most expensive piece in my wardrobe. I still have it today tucked away in a closet and it is still in perfect condition. I can’t bear to part with it.

I’m getting tired of writing obituaries. I’m going to start a series of designer spotlights featuring people who are still alive. It will be more pleasant. Stay tuned.

As always, thanks for reading.
Grace

Comments are closed.