I Am Not Martha Stewart

Martha StewartA couple of years ago I bought a sewing machine. I was going to learn to make my own things. You know, pillows and clothes and stuff.

It came with an instructional VHS tape. I set up my machine and followed the tape to learn how to sew. It seemed easy enough. Then, I put the sewing machine in a closet to collect dust for a couple of years.

Something possessed me recently to buy some patterns. Aye aye aye. I’ve never had anything I’ve purchased ship so fast in my life. I think I must have been shopping and couldn’t find anything in the stores that I liked so I decided to make my own clothes.

So here I am with three patterns that I have absolutely no idea what to do with. To be honest I can’t even find the sewing machine any more. I wonder if I lent it to someone. I can’t remember.

I have this habit of trying to do everything my self.

So now I have determined to say this 10 times a day, “I am not Martha Stewart, I am not Martha Stewart.” No offense to Martha. I’m sure she’s a very nice lady. I like her TV show and her magazine. But I just can’t do all these things myself. I’ve been crocheting for christssake.

One response to “I Am Not Martha Stewart

  1. clotheshorseok

    I am with you on this, I wish I could sew but I never could quite figure it out, even after design and sewing classes in college!