The Little Black Dress

Coco ChanelCreated by Coco Chanel in the 1920s and a fashion staple in every woman’s closet ever since.

A little black dress with pumps and a tailored jacket can take you to the office during the day, and with diamonds and silk gloves to a gala event at night.

Always in style, never out of fashion. Here are beautiful examples of the little black dress throughout modern history.

Marilyn Monroe
Marilyn Monroe

Audrey Hepburn
Audrey HepburnAudrey Hepburn

The Duchess of Windsor
Duchess of Windsor

Chanel dresses from the 1920s
Chanel Little Black DressChanel Little Black Dress

5 responses to “The Little Black Dress

  1. Boy if the little black dress was not here to stay before, after Audrey wore it it sure was. I think little black dress and I think Breakfast at Tiffany’s. No offense to Coco.

  2. I agree with Max. . .

    I totally think of Breakfast at Tiffany’s

    I personally own 4 “little black dresses”

    🙂

  3. I have to say that I do consider those 1920s sketches rather out of style by now. I never really got that “black dresses never go out of style” thing. Old black dresses can be just as ugly as any kind of old clothes.

  4. I love the variety of Little Black Dresses you’ve presented here, Grace. I also own Little Black Jackets – one in Linen for the summer season and the other a drapey Gabardine Wool for winter. And I’m not talking boxy blazers, either!

  5. Pingback: little black dress « celluloid blonde