Review: Bionic Woman

Bionic Woman

Tonight was the premiere of the remake of the Bionic Woman. Well, not really a remake, more like a reimagining. The plot is much different. In the original series Jamie Sommers was a professional tennis player and the show was a spin-off of the Six Million Dollar Man.

In this new series, Jamie is a bartender who is dating a biomedical engineer or something like that. They get into a horrific car accident and he is miraculously uninjured and well enough to perform an incredibly complex but not very time-consuming operation on her to fix her up with bionic parts.

There is also another bionic woman in the show, who was apparently the prototype gone wrong, and she was almost more interesting than the lead character. I hope she remains throughout the series.

While I didn’t dislike the show, it didn’t wow me. I liked the main character and actress. But I almost didn’t make it to the end of the show because I found the commercial interruptions unbearable. What an outdated concept. Ten minutes of show, then talking chickens, cars, drugs, promos for other shows, then I’m supposed to recapture the mood of the previous scene. I’d rather they just put out a DVD box set that I can watch at my leisure.

I loved the original Bionic Woman when I was a kid. I was even a member of the Bionic Woman fan club. So, I’ll give this show another shot next week. But I don’t know if I can stand watching network TV anymore.

2 responses to “Review: Bionic Woman

  1. I met a woman yesterday who was named after Lindsay Waggoner because the original series was so cool. And cool it certainly was; because the character was a professional athlete whose bionic parts meant she could no longer pursue her career and first love, it was at heart an existential quest for meaning. I can’t see this one having the same resonance.

  2. bionic women are hot