World’s Top 10 Most Liveable Cities

Munich

As reported by the International Herald Tribune, Monocle Magazine picks the world’s top 10 most liveable cities…and only one is in the U.S.

Each city ranks for various reasons, mainly cleanliness, good transportation, low crime, high-quality housing, culture and the arts.

Here are the Top 10:

  1. Munich
  2. Copenhagen
  3. Zurich
  4. Tokyo
  5. Vienna
  6. Helsinki
  7. Sydney
  8. Stockholm
  9. Honolulu
  10. Madrid

What is your favorite city?

8 responses to “World’s Top 10 Most Liveable Cities

  1. I heard Philadelphia has ugly people, but there are cool historical sites to see.

  2. OK – wow, I was just in Phillie! I was thinking, after reading your post, that we might suggest a US top 10? Not that I have much authority on this… ok , ANY authority. But I thought the people of Philadelphia were lovely. I was at a convention so who knows where the people were really from.

  3. Grand Rapids Michigan. I’ve lived there for 20 years and love the clean & beautiful environment, water everywhere, interesting city and dedication to the arts. I like Michigan so much I made a blog full of HDR photos of the places people appreciate here.

  4. c’mon. what about cleveland?
    i dont think i’d like to live in honolulu or tokyo…
    but munich looks like a great city!
    deutschland ueber alles!

  5. @ teliczan, I went to college outside of Grand Rapids. I have not returned for a visit, but I hear it looks better (built up) since the mid-to late ’90s.

    My fave town is Little Rock, AR. I would not want to live there, but I love the quaint shops and the ambiance of the town. I have been to NYC and I lived outside of Boston for several years, these cities do not do anything for me. (Well, except having access to the Theatre.)

  6. I’ve lived most of my life in the Washington metro area and the Baltimore metro area.
    The D.C. area has a very strong economy, but its highway system sometimes seems near gridlock, and the cost of buying or renting a home is out of sight.
    The Baltimore area is more charming, more livable, more affordable.

  7. i have visited almost all the world but i like the washington much as compare to other respect to the peace and livelihood it is the best

  8. gee… what happened to melbourne?