Review: Kiehl’s Lycopene Facial Moisturizing Lotion

Kiehl’s Lycopene Facial Moisturizing LotionMy first experience with Kiehl’s was when I was living in New York City. I kept seeing the name Kiehl’s pop up in magazines with different celebrities saying they used various products. So I did some research and found that Kiehl’s has been around forever but it does not advertise. It depends on word of mouth. So here I am continuing the tradition.

I love experimenting with beauty products. Tonight, I tried Kiehl’s new Lycopene Facial Moisturizing Lotion with tomatoes, beta-carotene and vitamin E. Here is the description from Kiehl’s:

A most distinctively modern discovery! Lycopene – derived from the tomato – is enhanced with Beta-Carotene and Vitamin E to become a protective antioxidant preparation, which is released onto the skin. These powerful antioxidants work together to reduce the level of damaging free radicals on your skin. This moisturizing treatment is best suited for normal to oily skin types.

Lycopene is the carotenoid that makes the tomato red and is a powerful antioxidant. It is an exceptional scavenger that reduces damage to the skin caused by free-radicals. Also known to help increase skin elasticity.

The lotion is thin and yellow yet goes onto the skin heavier than it appears. It takes a while to absorb in but doesn’t feel greasy at all. My skin feels soft but I can tell I am wearing lotion on my face. It is odorless and contains no SPF. I would recommend it for nighttime use. I have dry skin so it’s probably not suited to my type. But as I said, I like to try everything. And I like the idea of incorporating tomatoes into a skin lotion.

1.7 fl. oz. bottle – $35.00 at Kiehls

5 responses to “Review: Kiehl’s Lycopene Facial Moisturizing Lotion

  1. really? does not advertise? thats cool! TOMATOES SOUND GREAT FOR SKIN

  2. This sounds fascinating! Are you going to use it for an extended period (like the whole bottle) at night and test the results?

  3. I only have a trial size. But I’m going to use it until it runs out. It should last about a week. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  4. My computer’s a bit wonky, so I can’t research it myself, but I do believe Burts Bee’s using several vegetable based ingredients in their skin care line…

  5. So, I’m through with my sample. This product is very nice although it is definitely not for my skin type. But I think if you have oilier skin, this product could be a very nice nighttime moisturizer. I need something more heavy duty for my dry, dry skin.