Oscar Nominations

Oscars poster

The Academy Awards are this weekend.

I haven’t seen many of the movies this year but I still get giddy for Oscar night. I always have champagne and I don’t attend parties. I like to watch the broadcast at home with just a couple of people who I know won’t talk through the ceremonies or make fun of anyone.

This is all we’ve got in America. We don’t have royalty but we have celebrities.

So here are the nominees in the acting categories:

Actress in a Leading Role
Cate Blanchett – Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Julie Christie – Away From Her
Marion Cotillard – La Vie en Rose
Laura Linney – The Savages
Ellen Page – Juno

Actress in a Supporting Role
Cate Blanchett – I’m Not There
Ruby Dee – American Gangster
Saoirse Ronan – Atonement
Amy Ryan – Gone Baby Gone
Tilda Swinton – Michael Clayton

Actor in a Leading Role
George Clooney – Michael Clayton
Daniel Day-Lewis – There Will Be Blood
Johnny Depp – Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
Tommy Lee Jones – In the Valley of Elah
Viggo Mortensen – Eastern Promises

Actor in a Supporting Role
Casey Affleck – The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
Javier Bardem – No Country for Old Men
Philip Seymour Hoffman – Charlie Wilson’s War
Hal Holbrook – Into the Wild
Tom Wilkinson – Michael Clayton

Who do you want to win?

Check back on Sunday for Grace Magazine’s coverage of the red carpet fashions.

One response to “Oscar Nominations

  1. Great idea – the champagne. I used to want to go to the parties and couldnt’ get anyone to go with me. Now I veg out and control the TV from early in the day to the very end. Looking forward to your review of the red carpet.
    (oh and if I were to rec any one movie to you, I would say go see La Vie En Rose!)