Uglies and Pretties

Uglies, Pretties and Specials by Scott Westerfeld

My neice told me about a book she was reading called Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. She was enjoying it so much I thought I would give it a try even though it falls into the category of Young Adult Fiction.

The story is about a young girl named Tally who lives in a future society where everyone gets an operation at age 16 to make them pretty. Until kids reach their 16th birthday, they are referred to as Uglies and segregated from the rest of society. But shortly before her birthday, Tally meets a new friend named Shay, who wants to run away and live in a place called The Smoke, where no one wants to get the pretty operation.

The books deal with themes of beauty, betrayal, friendship, society, government, environmentalism, and much more. It is fast-paced with rich characters, and the author doesn’t talk down to its readers.

I enjoyed Uglies so much, I ripped right through the sequels, Pretties and Specials.

Have you read these books?

8 responses to “Uglies and Pretties

  1. No, have never heard of these. I’m intrigued.

  2. I read them once, a few years back. They’re pretty good reads, good enough to stick in my memory. I wasn’t aware that a third had come out, so I’m glad I came across your post. I’ll let you know once I finish it. What else did you think about the first two ?

    Also – have you read the classic Brave New World by Huxley ? Similar theme.

  3. Pingback: Midnighters #1: The Secret Hour « Grace Magazine

  4. I love all the Scott Westerfeld books I’ve read so far, the Uglies Series, The Peeps series, So Yesterday and two of the Midnighters books and his books are addictive!

  5. READIN UGLIES 4 SKOOL LOVE IT. I WANT 2 READ ALL OF HIS BOOKS. I’M VERY INTERESTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. im reading uglies right now and i love it๐Ÿ˜€ i want to read the sequels and scott westerfields other books too. and i would love to try and fit in twilight ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. I loved all of the Uglies books. Midnighters is really good, too.

  8. I’ve actually just finished reading Uglies last night and am about to start on Pretties. His books are very addicing, actually I’m not the only one reading them in my class.
    I also saw a privew on YouTube that Uglies was comming out soon? I can’t waite(:
    Well, yeahh…

    – Tyler(: