The Morning Routine

Image by Erte

This post is inspired by an entry on Slaves to Fashion called How Long Is Your Morning Regimen?

I live in Southern California, so I have a pretty long drive to work. I have never been a morning person but, fortunately, I work at an office where the start times are relaxed and the attire is casual.

Here’s my usual routine:

7:01 AM – First alarm goes off. Hit Snooze. (I have a 9 minute snooze on my alarm.)
7:10 AM – Second alarm. Snooze, etc., etc., until about…
7:45 AM – Finally get out of bed. Relax in the living room, sipping a glass of water.
8:00 AM – Check clock, realize way too much time is passing and I better get moving before I fall asleep in my big comfy chair.
8:05 AM – Wash face, brush teeth.
8:10 AM – Shower (I usually wash my hair the night before to save time in the morning.)
8:30 AM – Out of shower. (Somehow, it still takes me 20 minutes.) Moisturize.
8:35 AM – Apply makeup.
8:45 AM – Check clock. Damn.
8:50 AM – Straighten or curl hair. If I’m running really late, I twist it into a clip.
8:57 AM – Get dressed. Debate what shoes to wear. My job involves cars, so I have to think about what I’ll be driving to choose the right shoes. Of course, this problem could easily be solved if I just managed to carry driving shoes with me at all times. But fashion always wins out in the end and I usually choose inappropriately cute footwear.
9:04 AM: Dab on a little perfume.
9:05 AM – Hit the road. Don’t even think about the freeway. It’s the scenic route all the way. My commute can be anywhere from 45 minutes to 1.5 hours. I try to be at work by 9:45 but usually get there around 10:00.
9:30 AM – Should be halfway to work by now, passing a beautiful view of the ocean.
10:00 AM – Still commuting. Argh.
10:05 AM – Arrive at work.

Yikes, that’s 3 hours. I really should get out of bed earlier so I can add daily exercise into my routine. I’m not a breakfast person. I usually grab a coffee around 11:00, then lunch at 1:30 or 2:00 PM. I’ll be at the office until 7:00 or 7:30 pm, sometimes later. Then I start the whole evening routine. Check the Sigalert to see if I can jump on the freeways. Drive an hour or so home. Find something for dinner. Relax. Wash hair. Blog. Go to bed and start over.

What is your daily routine?

One response to “The Morning Routine

  1. shit, shower, shave