Winners at the 2008 Cannes Film Festival

Cannes Palm d'Or went to Entre Les Murs

A French film won the Palme d’Or for the first time since 1987. It was unanimously awarded to Entre Les Murs (The Class) directed by Laurent Cantet.

Best Actor prize went to Benicio Del Toro for Che directed by Steven Soderbergh. The four-and-a-half hour film will be released as two movies, The Argentine and The Guerilla.

Best Actress prize went to Sandra Corveloni, for Linha De Passe by Walter Salles and Daniela Thomas.

The Grand Prize went to Matteo Garrone’s Gomorra.

Best Director award went to Nuri Bilge Ceylan for his film Three Monkeys.

The Jury Prize went to Il Divo directed by Paolo Sorrentino.

Best Screenplay went to Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne for Le Silence de Lorna (Lorna’s Silence).

And two Special Jury Prizes were given to Catherine Deneuve and Clint Eastwood for their bodies of work.

For the complete list of winners visit the official Festival de Cannes Web site.

Catherine Deneuve and Sean Penn


Comments are closed.