18 Million Cracks

Senator Hillary Clinton

Some memorable quotes from Senator Hillary Clinton’s speech today:

To all those who voted for me, my commitment to you is unyielding. You have inspired and touched me. You have humbled me with your commitment.

Eighteen million of you from all walks of life — women, and men, young and old, Latino and Asian, African-American and Caucasian, rich and poor, middle class, gay and straight … you have stood with me.

I am a woman, and like millions of women, I know there are still barriers and biases out there, often unconscious, and I want to build an America that respects every one of us. We must make sure that women and men alike understand the struggles of their grandmothers and mothers.

Although we weren’t able to shatter that highest, hardest glass ceiling this time, thanks to you, it has about 18 million cracks in it and the light is shining through like never before.

Children today will grow up taking for granted that an African-American or a woman can, yes, become the president of the United States.

Thanks, Hillary.

2 responses to “18 Million Cracks

  1. Now my two daughters will vote for Barack. Yes!

  2. tasithoughts

    Hillary did a great thing for the party. Her leadership is still needed. We must unify under Obama and work to undo the l;eadership that has caused the catastrophe of the last eight years. More than ever change is needed. It cannot be McCain.