OMG Champagne Truffles

Grace Magazine Truffles

I’ve been learning to make candy. Actually, I’ve been teaching myself. I bought a few books on the subject. One in particular concentrates on chocolate truffles. I dove into the deep end and made bittersweet chocolate champagne truffles.

It was a lot easier than I thought. I’d like to share the recipe with you.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 8 oz. bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • another 10 oz. of chocolate for melting later
  • 3 tablespoons of champagne or sparkling wine

Instructions and Tips:

Day 1

  • Chop the chocolate as finely as possible. Some people use a knife. I’m impatient and I used my food processor. Put into a mixing bowl.
  • Heat the cream over a medium flame until it just simmers.
  • Remove from heat and pour over the ground chocolate. Be sure all of the chocolate is covered by the cream.
  • Cover the bowl and leave sit for 5 minutes.
  • Remove cover and stir the mixture until you’re sure all of the chocolate is melted. It should look lovely and glossy. This is ganache.
  • Add the champagne and stir again until well blended.
  • Let cool to room temperature. It will probably be pretty cool now anyway after all of the stirring.
  • Cover bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate. Wait about 4 hours.
  • Prepare a cookie sheet or flat pan by covering it with foil, making sure it is smooth.
  • Scoop out ganache and roll into 3/4 inch balls. Coat your hands in cocoa powder so they don’t stick. I used a melon baller to scoop out consistent-sized balls. Line them up on the baking sheet.
  • Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

Day 2

  • You need to temper the remaining 10 oz. of chocolate. I used a double boiler but you can also do this in the microwave. But be careful not to overheat the chocolate.
  • Bring a small amount of water to boil. Remove from heat. Put about 6-8 oz. of the chocolate in a metal bowl and sit on top of the hot water. I didn’t bother chopping this chocolate. I broke it into small pieces. It will slowly melt.
  • Prepare another cookie sheet with foil.
  • Remove from the double boiler. Put it the remaining chocolate. It will melt in the hot chocolate.
  • Stir until it cools slightly.
  • Heat the water again. Remove from the stove. And place the metal bowl on top again.
  • Remove the ganache balls from the fridge. Dip each one in the melted chocolate to coat.
  • You can use a fork but it’s easier if you have a plastic chocolate dipping spoon. You can get them at any craft store.
  • Tap off the excess chocolate. Try to coat them as thinly as possible. Line them up on the tray and let the chocolate harden.
  • Remove from the tray and put into little foil or paper cups.
  • At the candy department at my local craft store, I bought gold dust to decorate the tops. It’s make of corn starch and is edible. It adds a nice rich touch.

Be careful when you eat them as you may faint from sheer pleasure.

Note: The outcome depends on the quality of chocolate you use in the recipe. I used 70% dark chocolate from Scharffen Berger. It’s an American company based in Northern California. It’s the finest chocolate I’ve ever tasted.

2 responses to “OMG Champagne Truffles

  1. Wow. Those sound wonderful.

  2. Pingback: Cure for Chocoholism « Grace Magazine