Kay Francis, Hollywood Star

Kay Francis

The other night I put on TCM and caught the last 10 minutes of a movie called Confession. It starred Kay Francis, an actress that I know nothing about. She was once the highest paid actress in Hollywood.

Those fabulous actresses from the 1930s are all but forgotten to us today. In the few scenes I saw, she was marvelously playing out a courtroom melodrama and I couldn’t take my eyes off of her.

So I bought a biography called Kay Francis: I Can’t Wait To Be Forgotten. I love reading biographies of famous women, especially actresses.

Here are some timeless images of Kay Francis.

Kay FrancisKay FrancisKay Francis

Kay FrancisKay FrancisKay Francis

Kay Francis

2 responses to “Kay Francis, Hollywood Star

  1. I think the Egyptians had the right idea. Their names may be forgotten, but their monuments still stand. Film? Is a little more transient.

  2. Kay Francis was TCM’s star of the month for September. They aired over 40 of her films. The woman is an addiction. I know because I watched (and recorded) them all. ‘Confession’ was her best performance.