Mascara Wars: Wrap-Up

lashes-400

After testing ten very different mascaras, my beauty life has been changed. I’m not exaggerating. I’ve always used drugstore brands of mascara thinking they were no different than any of the more expensive kinds. I was very wrong.

I would never buy foundation or powder in a drugstore, but I have no problem buying inexpensive lip gloss or nail polish. I had no idea that a pricier mascara could be so much better.

My mascara of the last few years has been Cover Girl’s Fantastic Lash. I’ve been using it since Maybelline discontinued my previous favorite which was Lash by Lash. I’ve never liked Great Lash, couldn’t stand the smell, the brush, or the look.

I’ve been perfectly happy with Fantastic Lash until this experiment made me discover a whole new world of eye lash happiness.

So, onto the results.

I found myself reaching for Korres Deep Colour Mascara as the first mascara I wanted to wear again. And then the next day, I reached for it again. It is my clear favorite. The brush is full yet tapered and pointy to get into the corners. The formula goes on dark without clumping and without getting too thick. It made my lashes very long without becoming heavy. And it held the curl all day until I was ready to remove it. My lashes are naturally long and I have a tendency to get mascara all over my eyelid when I apply it so I aways put on my masacara before my eyeshadow. This way I can correct my sloppiness. So I like a mascara that doesn’t stain the skin too much when I try to remove my mishaps. Korres comes off cleanly.

My runner-up is Smashbox Bionic Mascara. It also went on easily and looked professional. My only problem was that it was difficult to remove.

Sephora Atomic Mascara was also very nice and very quick to apply. But I was a little put off by the very spiky brush. Makeup Forever Smoky Lash was also a keeper. It made my lashes long and curled without being overly dramatic.

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes started out okay but didn’t have staying power. Urban Decay Big Fatty could use a better brush design. The mascara itself gave a soft effect but the brush made it difficult to apply. I also found the packaging off-putting.

I thought some of the mascaras were strange. DuWop’s Lash Venom had fibers in the formula that didn’t really achieve anything. I think they were supposed to bond themselves to my lashes and make them artificially longer. But it just didn’t work.

I’m all for innovation as long as it accomplishes something. Too Faced Lash Injection Pin Point Mascara was a very different experience but the crazy formula worked. It wrapped my lashes in tiny tubes which were strange at first, but I really liked the look. I had the opposite reaction to Cargo TexasLash, however, which also tried to create tiny tubes but didn’t have the same dramatic effect.

Vincent Longo The Curl was the first mascara I tried and I was very disappointed. I can’t help but think the sample was a reject. There didn’t seem to be anything in the tube.

I hope my experiments inspire you to lash out.

5 responses to “Mascara Wars: Wrap-Up

  1. “My lashes are naturally long and I have a tendency to get mascara all over my eyelid when I apply it so I aways put on my masacara before my eyeshadow”

    You say that like it is a bad thing. My whole life, even in the modeling days, I just rub mascara mishaps into the eyeliner. Sometimes it even inspires the eyeliner, like, I was not going to smudge, but now I guess I had better.

  2. Thank you for doing this! I’m off to the big city tomorrow to visit Sephora!!!

  3. Have fun. Report back and let us know what products you tried.

  4. Pingback: Product Review: Korres Watermelon Sunscreen « Grace Magazine

  5. Pingback: Do We Really Need Drugs for Our Eyelashes? « Grace Magazine