In NYC – Day 3 part 1

fifthShopping. Shopping. Shopping.

A long time ago I lived in Manhattan and worked in an office on Fifth Avenue near St. Patrick’s Cathedral. My apartment was on the Upper East Side, so I would walk to work past all the high-end shops like Henri Bendel, Bergdorf Goodman, Tiffany, Versace, H. Stern, Cartier, Pucci, Saks, etc.

I could never afford anything in these stores. But now that I am a little older and actually have a career, I wanted to shop Fifth Avenue — the sales, of course.

My first stop was Saks Fifth Avenue. I’d forgotten how the cosmetics sales reps practically tackle you when you walk onto the first floor. I raced by them and took the escalator up one flight. The designer sales racks were bulging with goodies. But, alas, even at 80% off I still couldn’t afford most of the merchandise. But it was nice to be able to handle and see up close the workmanship that goes into these pieces.

There was Valentino, Versace, Marc Jacobs, Donna Karan, all the big names you see in the pages of Vogue. Ladies in fur coats were digging through the racks. I was surprised by the wide range of sizes that were on offer. Usually, when you see a designer sale, the clothes are all microscopic. I didn’t buy anything, although I fretted over a beautiful winter white driving coat. I made my way back to the first floor and bought a silver-sequined scarf. I’ll take a picture of it when I get home.

flemingOn my way out I got enticed to one of the perfume counters where I tried on Coty’s La Voce by Renee Fleming. The beautiful bottle was inspired by one of the chandeliers at the Metropolitan Opera house. The top of the bottle can be removed and worn as a brooch. The whole package comes on its own little stage. The scent is a lovely oriental floral. It costs $200 and proceeds go to the Metropolitan Opera.

Next, I wandered into Ferragamo, one of my favorite stores. They were having an end-of-season sale. I bought two pairs of driving shoes. One in lipstsick red patent leather, the other in black suede. I’ll show you when I get back to L.A.

I wandered in and out of other shops just to browse. Takashimaya (where they offered me some hand cream because of the cold weather), Bergdorf’s, Bendel’s. They were all packed because of the sales.

I was disappointed to see that some bargain stores have moved in. Surely, there is a better place for H&M, Zara and Juicy. I have nothing against those stores, but they are out of place on Fifth Avenue.

It looks like I’m going to an Off-Off Braodway show tonight. More later.

One response to “In NYC – Day 3 part 1

  1. Sounds like a magical princess story. I’m enjoying your adventures in New York City.

    Be careful!