My Safe Place

Secret Garden

Do you have a safe place?

It doesn’t have to be a real place. It’s a mental place that your mind can go when it needs to take a break. It’s a meditation place.

I remember an episode of BBC’s Coupling when Sally needed to go to her safe place. Her place was a white room with a string quartet; she was wearing a pretty dress and holding a cocktail.

My place is a garden. It is a very old garden in the shape of a circle and walled in with ancient stones. Only I have the key to its thick wooden door. In the center is a stone bench where I can sit and think. It’s The Secret Garden from the children’s book of the same name by Frances Hodgeson Burnett. That was my mother’s favorite book when she was a child and that’s the way I imagined it to look. For some reason in my mind, the garden is in Italy and the wall is ancient and perhaps a ruin from the Roman Empire.

What’s your safe place?

One response to “My Safe Place

  1. a bar stool in London