Sonia Sotomayor, Girl Detective

sonia-sotomayor

Supreme Court nominee Sonia Sotomayor has cited Nancy Drew as one of her role models.

She’s in good company. Many other modern, powerful women have said the same, including the Supreme Court’s other two female members.

I loved reading Nancy Drew books. When I was young, my mother signed me up for the Nancy Drew book club. I got two books every month and would instantly devour them. I couldn’t wait for the next delivery. She was my childhood heroine. She was only a teenager and she solved crimes!

Nancy Drew was an intelligent, independent woman, who went after a case no matter what. Fear didn’t stop her, bad guys could not deter her. She was determined and clever. Nancy Drew was a modern woman at a time when stories for girls were filled with princesses and faeries.

And she drove around in really cool roadster.

Read more about Nancy Drew, Girl Detecive and Role Model on abcnews.com.

nancy-drew-book

One response to “Sonia Sotomayor, Girl Detective

  1. I was hooked on Nancy Drew too. What a blast from the past!