Review: Coco Chanel on Lifetime

Shirley MacLaine as Coco Chanel on Lifetime

I found that I had a smile on my face the entire time I was watching this movie.

Although it wasn’t the best piece of cinema, it was engaging and clear. Most of the story was about the young Coco played by Barbora Bobulova. She got me involved right away and I identified with her and cheered her on. She looked very well in the period clothes.

Shirley MacLaine is always a joy to watch. She brings a certain spunk to all of her roles. Even though I suspect the real Coco Chanel was hell on wheels, MacLaine made us see the sypathetic side of the woman. We understood her determination. I could have watched her all night. I wish there was more of her in the film.

I appreciate that the filmmaker showed Chanel working hard and took the time at the end of the film to show the clothes. We were treated to the fashion show that brought Chanel back into the world after the war.

If you didn’t get to see the movie, look for it in your local listings. I’m sure Lifetime will be rerunning it often.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go put on some Chanel No. 5.

2 responses to “Review: Coco Chanel on Lifetime

  1. Well, this movie didn’t get the greatest reviews. But it did get 5.2 million viewers.

  2. I so wanted to watch this! But, alas, I’ll have to catch it later.